Conference Schedule 2019

Please note schedule is subject to change.

Please click on individual sessions for detailed information. Concurrent sessions are marked in red.

Last updated: March 13, 2019

Thursday, May 30, 2019

7:30-8:30Registration and Breakfast
9:00-10:15Keynote (Title Forthcoming)Dr. Gregory Younging
10:30-11:20 Open Access Policies and Traditional Publishing Agreements Dr. Rumi Graham
Allan Bell
Dominique Lapierre
Mark Swartz
11:30-12:00 Language and Discourse in the Copyright Act Review Jennifer Zerkee
Stephanie Savage
11:30-12:00 Crown Copyright: More Than Just an Outdated Provision Amanda Wakaruk
12:00-1:00Lunch and Annual General Meeting
1:00-2:15 Keynote (Title Forthcoming) Dr. Jean Dryden
2:15-3:15Copyright and Social Media, Navigating Risks and ExceptionsDr. Hayleigh Bosher
3:30-4:00Open Licence Confusion: Common Misconceptions Held by Open Textbook Authors Lauri Aesoph
4:00-4:30Negotiating Copyright in Online Creative Spaces: How Canadian Fan Writers Navigate and Learn about LawRebecca Katz
4:30-5:00CUSMA and Technical Protection MeasuresRobert Tiessen
6:00-10:00Reception and Dinner – Remai Modern Art Gallery

Friday, May 31, 2019

7:30-9:00Registration and Breakfast
9:00-10:15Keynote – Lawsuits Over Licensing: Lesson Learned and Future DirectionsDr. Kevin L. Smith
10:30-11:00 Click-Thru Agreements in Journal Author Licensing: Do these Allow for the Legally Required Right to Negotiation?Lise Brin
10:30-11:00Software Preservation and Copyright: An Exploration of the Issues Mark Swartz
Graeme Slaght
11:05-12:00Cultural Appropriation in Fashion: Is Copyright the Answer? Brigitte Vézina
1:00-1:50The Decline of Collective Copyright Licensing in Canada’s Post-Secondaries Explained Using the Theory of Fields Donald Taylor
2:00-2:45 Indigenous Knowledge, Libraries and Cultural Institutions Ann Ludbrook
Camille Calliston
Kim Nayyer
2:00-2:45The Sky is Not Falling—A Discussion about the Fair Dealing Guidelines Meera Nair
Heather Martin
3:00-4:30Engaging Students In the Creation of Open ContentHeather M. Ross
4:30-4:45Closing RemarksABC 2019 Steering Committee Members